Cork Golf Club
Introduction :: Events List :: Competition Reports :: Club News :: Junior News :: Members Feedback / Suggestion Box :: Club Diary :: Photo Gallery :: Documents

Junior News

Results of Previous Events.

Junior Easter Competition played Sunday 15th April
Winner: Shane Broderick(28)52pts,2nd Leon Foley(9)38pts,3rd Donagh McCarthy(26)38pts, 4th Evan O Connell(18)37pts,5th Robert Williams(9)35pts
Best Girl 14 holes Ashling Murphy(36)14pts
Pre Junior 8 holes winners Eoghan Deasy, Eoghan Mathers & Niall Murphy 31 shots.
2nd Ian Barrett, John Fitzgerald & Joseph Fitsgerald 33 shots, 3rd Emma Nicholl, Niamh Nicholl & Rachel Kelleher 51 shots. Many thanks to Mr. Ted Dwyer and Eamon Dwyer of City Life for sponsoring event.

Cork Golf Club U18 Boys V Skibbereen Golf Club 14th February 2012. Winners Cork 5 Skibbereen 2
Mid Term 14 hole Junior Competition 13th Fedruary 2012
1st Mark Sheehan (6) 32pts, 2nd Paul Collins (9) 28pts, Best Girl Niamh Deasy (36) 16 pts. Pre Juniors 7 holes. 1st William Abernetty, Ian Barrett & Eoghan Deasy 24shots. 2nd Eoin Horgan & Robert Walsh 26 shots.

Junior Christmas Competition 30-12-11
Juniors 14 holes:  Winner Mark Sheehan (6) 34pts, 2nd Robin Ready (11) 31pts & 3rd Rory Dineen (11) 30pts.
Pre-Juniors 7 hole Scramble 33 shots Paul Kennedy, Emma Nicholl, Niamh Nicholl & Robert Walsh.
Phil O'Sullivan Trophy, played at Monkstown G.C on 3rd November 2011
Team - Under 18 Boys:  Thomas Healy, Mark Sheehan, Robert Collins
Team - Under 16 Boys:  Michael O'Connell, Jack O'Flynn, Cian O'Regan
Team - Under 14 Boys:  Ben McKenna, Rory Dineen, Edward Hayes
Team - Under 18 Girls:  Niamh Deasy, Tamsin O'Callaghan, Aisling Murphy

Winners:  Monkstown 7.5 pts / Cork 4.5 pts

Claire Coughlan Trophy, 1st November 2011. (16 hole Competition)
  Winner:  Edward Hayes (23) 42pts
  Runner-up:  Robin Reidy (11) 34pts
  3rd:  Mark Sheehan (6) 33pts
  Best Girl:  Niamh Deasy (34) 22pts.

  Pre Juniors (9 holes)
    Winner:  Eoin Deasy 48 shots
    Runner-up:  Niall Murphy 52 shots
    3rd:  Paul Kennedy 54 shots

Scotts Trophy U-16 Inter Club Competition played on 4th September.  
Between Cork, Monkstown, Muskerry and Douglas.
5 on each team.  Best 3 stb. scores to count.
Cork Team:  Jack O'Flynn, Michael O'Connell, David Hickey, Cian O'Regan and Mike Horgan.

1st:  Cork, 114 pts.
2nd:  Muskerry, 92pts
3rd:  Monkstown, 91pts
4th:  Douglas, 89pts
CAPTAINS PRIZE TO JUNIORS played Sunday 28/08/11.
1st Rory Dineen(13)39pts,
2nd Brendan Lyden(19)36pts,
3rd Michael Mc Carthy(23)35pts

Best Girl Niamh Deasy(34)29pts.

Winner Red Tees Daniel Burke(24)36pts

Pre-Junior 4 hole Stroke:
1st Eoin Horgan 23 shots,
2nd Niall Murphy 24 shots,
3rd Ben Costello 25 shots.

LADY CAPTAINS PRIZE TO JUNIORS, played Sunday 21/08/11
1st David Hickey(7)39pts,
2nd Rory Dineen(13)38pts,
3rd Michael Murphy(12)37pts,
Best Girl Niamh Deasy(34)21pts.
1st Eoghan Deasy, Eoin Horgan & Ian Barrett 17 shots.
2nd Billy Whyte, Harry Dillon & Niall Murphy 18 shots.
Congrulations to Michael O'Connell who won the Munster Under 15 Strokeplay Championship in Ballybunion ( Cashen Course) 28th July, with a great score of 74.

Tues Juniors Open CSS 39pts.  R Welch (24) 44pts.  L Foley (11) E/Cork 42pts.  D O’Sullivan (18) Mahon 41pts.  G Manley (14) E/Cork 41pts.  B Whelehan (20) E/Cork 41pts.  S Horan (20) Frankfield 40pts.


Junior Foursomes at Muskerry G.C. on Friday 29th April.
Cork nett score: 148 (Did not qualify)
Youghal and Cobh Qualified with 140.5 nett & 143 nett respectively

Easter Junior Competition
Tues 26th April:
Juniors Competition:  
        Winner: David Hickey (14) 40pts.  
        R- Up:   Paul Collins (12) 40pts.  
        3rd:       Robin Reidy (17) 39pts.  
Pre Juniors Competition:
    1st:  Aaron Doherty, Ian Barrett, Eoin Horgan  - 22shots.  
    2nd:  Niamh Deasy, Imogen O'Sullivan, Edward Hayes - 24 shots.  
    3rd:  Niall Murphy, Eoghan Deasy, Ben Costello, Jody Costello-26 shots.
Many thanks to Mr Ted Dwyer for sponsoring the Competition

Fred Daly 2011 1st Round away to East Cork on Saturday 2nd April
East Cork won 4 matches to 3
The deciding match went to the 20th

Sunday Juniors 13 hole Competition
Winner:  Thomas Healy (7) 28pts.
R/up:    Robert Collins (7) 27pts.
3rd:  Paul Collins (12) 25pts.
Best Girl:  Michelle Tobin (14) 17pts.
Pre Junior 6 Hole Scramble:  
Winning Team: Tamsin O'Callaghan, Edward Hayes & Paul Kennedy 24gross.
R/up:  Amy Leahy, Aisling Murphy, Katie O'Brien, Ciara Dooley 35gross


Phil O'Sullivan Trophy held at Cork on 5th January.
Format 3 girl U 18, 3 boys U14, 3 boys U16 & 3 boys U18
Cork won 6 matches, lost 4 matches & drew 2.
Overall Result:  Cork 7 : Monkstown 5
Many thanks to Phil O'Sullivan for providing the excellent prizes for each competitor.

Claire Coughlan Trophy was held on Friday 31st December 2010
13 played in main competition & 6 Pre Juniors played 4 hole Scramble.
Winner Michael O'Connell 34pts.  2nd Paul Collins 32pts.
3rd Cian O'Regan 32pts.  best girl Fiona Barry 24pts.
Pre Junior 4 hole Stroke Joint Winners:
Emma Nicholl, Niamh Nicholl and Katie O'Brien 22 Shots
Eoghan Deasy, Amy Leahy and Ciara Dooley 22 shots.
Thanks to Claire for taking the time to present the prizes

Click here to go back to previous page